Follow the author: @Thee_CurtMagurt

Alright everyone, we are getting to the nitty gritty of fantasy season. Draft days are fast approaching so we here at Triple Coverage have decided to help you out even more by doing some mock drafts of our own. In my mock draft I was gifted the first-overall pick, so let this serve as a potential guide should you have the same honour as me.

Sho also participated in the same draft as myself and picked seventh. He will be sharing his results as well in case you find yourself in the middle of your draft order.

*note I was not trying any Zero-RB fancy pants strategies. Just picking with my gut and what I thought would put together a solid team capable of winning.

Round 1 – pick 1: Antonio Brown, WR, Steelers

Absolute no brainer here. As much as I love running backs the decision to go with the consensus first pick, Brown, was a pretty easy one. The toughest decision was figuring out what snack to make while I waited for eternity to pick again.

Round 2 – pick 24: Brandin Cooks, WR, Saints

Since I have two picks in a row for the rest of the draft I took this opportunity to bolster my WR position by selecting Cooks. He was the best receiver left on the board and I happen to like Cook’s fantasy potential this year.

Round 3 – pick 25: LeSean McCoy, RB, Bills

I was hoping that Doug Martin or Eddie Lacy would still be around but they were picked in the middle of the second round so I have to settle for LeSean McCoy. McCoy is a solid back, and with Karlos Williams no longer in Buffalo I expect McCoy to carry more of the load this year.

Round 4 – pick 48: Jeremy Maclin, WR, Chiefs

This pick came down to whether I wanted to go with a RB2 to fill out my other RB slot, or a solid WR to play as my FLEX player. I chose the ladder going with Maclin who is a very dependable and solid WR. He should get the majority of the Chiefs passing targets.

Round 5 – pick 49: Randall Cobb, WR, Packers

Now I know what you are thinking here. Why pick Cobb when you already have three receivers and only one running back? Well the answer is I like Cobb more than any of the backs on the board. If you read my Green Bay fantasy preview you would notice that I think Cobb is in for a big year. It gives me roster flexibility at WR as well and potential trade bait later in the year should I need help.

Round 6 – pick 72: Rashad Jennings, RB, Giants

Now we address the running back position with back-to-back RB’s. First we go with Jennings. Jennings will be the Giants feature back as he still remains the best rushing option on the team. I do not expect him to be a star but I expect him to at least be serviceable while my receivers rack up major points.

Round 7 – pick 73: Melvin Gordon, RB, Chargers 

One of last years big bust’s comes in at pick 73. Gordon can’t be as bad last year though. This is a boom-or-bust pick. If it works out great, if not then Gordon can be let go and I will not be overly hurt due to the presence of McCoy and Jennings. If he turns out to be worth the risk than I am sitting pretty.

Round 8 – pick 96: Devin Funchess, WR, Panthers

Funchess is a potential breakout candidate entering his second season. I picked him basically so no one else would pick him. Since I am so deep at receiver he would need to be playing out of his mind to crack the lineup. I like having him though just in case of injury, he is a good depth pick.

Round 9 – pick 97: Zach Ertz, TE, Eagles

Ertz has never lived up to his fantasy potential since he came into the league. However, he is in a new system this year and the Eagles offence, as a whole, will look different. I picked Ertz knowing that since I passed on the best TE options (Gronk, Olsen, Reed, Kelce) Ertz would be one of the best leftover options and I’m happy to have him because of his upside.

Round 10 – pick 120: Derek Carr, QB, Raiders

Carr is forming a nice little tandem out in Oakland with receiver Amari Cooper. I fully expect the two of them to continue their strong play and for Carr to lead my fantasy squad to the promise land. Hopefully he is this years “Blake Bortles breakout player of the year” award winner

Round 11 – pick 121: Stephen Gostkowski, K, Patriots

Gostkowski, round 11, potential steal. Gostkowski will outscore a lot of the players picked in rounds 8-11. grabbing the Patriot kicker ensures that I will maximize the amount of points my team will score. Don’t believe me? read my blog on the merits of picking Gostkowski.

Round 12 – pick 144: Martellus Bennett, TE, Patriots

Back-to-back Pats. Bennett is another potential steal. We all remember Aaron Hernandez’s career in New England (pre murder) and how he was super productive opposite Gronk. Bennett hopefully slides into that role and has a top-10 TE season. Plus it gives me the ability to cover up that Ertz pick if he turns out to be bad.

Round 13 – pick 145: Laquon Treadwell, WR, Vikings

You always have to take a flier on a rookie player at some point. Mine comes in the form of Treadwell. He was rated as the top receiver in the draft for most last season which landed him in Minnesota. He will get playing time right from the start and could turn some heads in his first year.

Round 14 – pick 168: Patriots D/ST

Injuries schminjuries, in Bill I trust. Pats defence will be a great pick after passing on the Broncos, Panthers and Cardinals.

Round 15 – pick 169: Andy Dalton, QB, Bengals

Little insurance just in case Carr regresses.The “Red Rifle” can step in and be a QB2, and if he plays like he did last season, could be a QB1.

Round 16 – pick 192: Charcandrick West, RB, Chiefs

Mr. Irrelevent is Charcandrick West. Yes, one of the top handcuff backs is the last pick in the draft. If Jamaal Charles goes down with an injury again this could turn out to be one of the best picks I’ve made here.

Recap:

QB: Derek Carr, Andy Dalton

RB: LeSean McCoy, Rashad Jennings, Melvin Gordon, Charcandrick West

WR: Antonio Brown, Brandin Cooks, Jeremy Maclin, Randall Cobb, Devin Funchess, Laquon Treadwell

TE: Zach Ertz, Martellus Bennett

K: Stephen Gostkowski

D/ST: Patriots

 

 

 

